Syphilis: same-day diagnosis



It is possible to reduce infectious contacts by one third to one half with same-day syphilis diagnoses.

Since 2017, Nunavik has had one of the nation's highest rates of new syphilis infections. Nunavut has not been spared either, since it has experienced outbreaks of this very serious sexually-transmitted disease since 2012.

According to Dr. Cédric Yansouni, researcher at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre and professor in the Department of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) at McGill University, the timelines for diagnosis very likely contribute to the situation.

Indeed, there is no quick regulated test to detect syphilis in Canada—an especially significant problem in remote areas, whose clinics must send their blood samples to specialized laboratories in Montréal for analysis. One quarter of people tested for syphilis in Canada's High Arctic wait up to three weeks for their results. In the meantime, the disease continues to spread.

Cédric Yansouni is convinced it is possible to reduce infectious contacts by one third to one half with same-day syphilis diagnoses. He therefore turned to a rapid diagnostic test by US manufacturer Chembio. Because the test hasn't been accepted for registration by Health Canada, the researcher and his team led a pilot project to validate and demonstrate the pressing need for it in the North. 

Similar to a pregnancy test, the tool can detect syphilis in blood serum. Unlike standard syphilis tests, it may be used to diagnose individual patients in a short amount of time. However, a centrifuge is required to separate the serum from the blood, and the experts are therefore conducting a second study to determine the feasibility of using a complete blood sample in regions in which a centrifuge is not available. 

Cédric Yansouni is now focused on generating data to support the roll out of this type of test across Canada for urgent cases and at-risk populations.

Diagnostiquer la syphilis en une journée



Il est possible de diminuer d'un tiers à une demie les contacts infectieux en détectant la syphilis le jour même.

Depuis 2017, le Nunavik affiche l'un des plus hauts taux de nouveaux cas de syphilis déclarés au Canada. Le Nunavut n'est pas épargné non plus : la région connaît depuis 2012 une éclosion de cette maladie grave transmissible sexuellement. 

Selon Cédric Yansouni, chercheur au Centre universitaire de santé McGill et professeur au Département de médecine spécialisée de l'Université McGill, les délais pour obtenir le diagnostic contribuent très probablement à cette situation.

Il n'existe pas, en effet, de test rapide homologué pour détecter la syphilis au Canada. Un problème particulièrement important pour les régions éloignées, qui doivent faire analyser leurs échantillons sanguins dans des laboratoires spécialisés à Montréal. Un quart des personnes testées pour cette infection dans le Grand Nord canadien attendent ainsi jusqu'à trois semaines avant de recevoir leur diagnostic. Et pendant ce temps, la maladie continue de se transmettre.

Cédric Yansouni est persuadé qu'on peut diminuer d'un tiers à une demie les contacts infectieux en détectant la syphilis le jour même. Il a donc rapatrié un test diagnostique rapide provenant de Chembio, un manufacturier américain. Comme le produit n'était pas homologué par Santé Canada, le scientifique et son équipe ont mené un projet pilote pour le valider et démontrer le besoin urgent de l'utiliser au chevet des patients du Grand Nord.

L'outil, dont le design ressemble à celui d'un test de grossesse, utilise le sérum du sang pour détecter la syphilis. Contrairement au test traditionnel, il permet de diagnostiquer un patient à la fois, rapidement. Cependant, il requiert l'accès à une centrifugeuse pour séparer le sérum du sang. Le chercheur mène donc une autre étude pour démontrer la fiabilité d'un échantillon de sang complet pour les régions qui n'ont pas de centrifugeuses.

Cédric Yansouni compte ainsi générer des données qui appuieront le déploiement de ce genre de test partout au Canada pour des cas urgents et les populations à risque.