One step closer to a treatment for anorexia



Since the start of the pandemic, the incidence of anorexia among teenagers has skyrocketed—an alarming situation considering that 10% of people suffering from anorexia die from complications related to the disorder and there is currently no drug to control it, mainly because the neuronal mechanisms involved have yet to be elucidated. Salah El Mestikawy, researcher at the Douglas Hospital Research Centre affiliated with McGill University, and colleagues from Western University have identified a dysfunction in the brain that may explain some of the more severe forms of anorexia and found a potential treatment.

To communicate, neurons combine electric signals and transmissions between chemical messengers known as neurotransmitters. Among these neurotransmitters is acetylcholine, which plays a key role in the striatum, a structure located within the brain that regulates locomotor activity, reward sensitivity and habit formation.

Since the start of the pandemic, the incidence of anorexia among teenagers has skyrocketed.

Salah El Mestikawy's team observed that, in mice, low levels of acetylcholine in the striatum lead to the development of uncontrollable and devastating habits such as anorexic behaviours. More specifically, mice become anorexic when they are placed under stressful conditions. In a stable environment without any significant stressors, the mice do not develop the eating disorder.

These findings demonstrate how the environment can influence a dysfunctional brain. The study was validated on human subjects through a collaboration with Philip Gorwood at GHU Paris, making it possible to affirm that the confinement in spring 2020 likely triggered many anorexia cases.

Professor El Mestikawy and his team then showed the efficacy of the drug Aricept, which is often prescribed to Alzheimer patients, for restoring acetylcholine levels. Along with Philip Gorwood, the researchers are currently developing an initial pilot study with a small group of individuals suffering from anorexia to eventually greenlight the treatment in humans. Should the results prove conclusive, physicians will then have the very first pharmacological regimen for the most severe forms of anorexia and perhaps even other mental disorders such obsessive-compulsive behaviours and addiction.

Vers un traitement de l'anorexie ?



Depuis le début de la pandémie, les cas d'anorexie chez les adolescents ont explosé. Une situation inquiétante lorsqu'on sait que 10 % des anorexiques décèdent de leur condition et qu'il n'y a actuellement aucun médicament pour lutter contre ce trouble alimentaire, notamment parce qu'on connaît mal les mécanismes neuronaux impliqués. Mais la donne pourrait changer : Salah El Mestikawy, chercheur au Centre de recherche de l'Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas, affilié à l'Université McGill, et des collègues de l'Université de Western Ontario ont identifié un dérèglement dans le cerveau qui expliquerait certaines formes sévères de l'anorexie, et découvert un traitement potentiel pour le corriger.

Depuis le début de la pandémie, les cas d'anorexie chez les adolescents ont explosé.

Pour communiquer entre eux, les neurones combinent des signaux électriques et l'échange de messagers chimiques appelés neurotransmetteurs. L'acétylcholine est l'un de ces neurotransmetteurs qui joue un rôle important dans le striatum, une structure située au cœur de notre cerveau, chef d'orchestre de notre activité locomotrice, de notre sensibilité à la récompense et de la formation de nos habitudes.

L'équipe de Salah El Mestikawy a observé chez des souris qu'un faible taux d'acétylcholine dans le striatum menait à la formation d'habitudes incontrôlables et dévastatrices comme l'anorexie. Plus particulièrement, les souris deviennent anorexiques lorsqu'elles sont soumises à des conditions stressantes. Dans un environnement normal, sans stress particulier, elles ne développent pas ce problème alimentaire.

Ce dernier résultat montre l'influence de l'environnement sur un cerveau dysfonctionnel. L'étude, qui a ensuite été validée sur des sujets humains grâce à la collaboration de Philip Gorwood, à l'hôpital Sainte-Anne, à Paris, permet donc d'avancer que le confinement du printemps 2020 serait le déclencheur de nombreux cas d'anorexie.

Salah El Mestikawy et son équipe ont ensuite montré chez les souris l'efficacité du médicament Aricept, fréquemment testé dans la maladie d'Alzheimer, pour rétablir les taux d'acétylcholine. Avec Philip Gorwood, ils sont en train d'organiser une première étude pilote avec un petit groupe d'anorexiques pour valider ce traitement chez l'humain. Si les résultats s'avèrent concluants, les médecins disposeront alors du premier traitement pharmacologique pour les formes les plus sévères d'anorexie et, possiblement, pour d'autres troubles mentaux, comme les comportements obsessionnels et compulsifs ou l'addiction.