Médicaments et grossesse

 

Anick Bérard

Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier Ste-Justine

 

Domaine : santé de la mère, des enfants et des adolescents

Programme  Chaires de recherche

Concours 2015-2016

It is estimated that more than half of pregnant women take medications during pregnancy. Antidepressants are one of the most used class of medications for which less than adequate data are available. In addition, up to 30% of couples suffer from infertility.  Since August 2010, in Quebec, up to 3 in-vitro fertilization tests per patient are reimbursed by the RAMQ without proper evaluation of the risks associated with these techniques. The identification, treatment and monitoring of pregnant women with depression, and the systematic monitoring of mothers and children born through assisted reproduction are priorities for the Ministry of Health of Quebec - these topics are the central themes of my research program since 2002.

In continuity to my actual research program and with the infrastructures developed over the past 12 years, I plan to work on the following topics: a) The effect of antidepressant use during pregnancy on the risk of adverse pregnancy outcomes including congenital malformations; b) the effect of antidepressant use during pregnancy on the risk of autism; c) the DETECT-PD study - detection, treatment and follow-up of women with mental illness during and after pregnancy, and; d) the effect of assisted reproductive technologies on the newborn.

In addition to these four themes: 1) a new study will be initiated – The human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and pregnancy cohort: impact on the mother and child; 2) a collaboration with the University Claude Bernard in Lyon, for the establishment of a French cohort of pregnancies, and; 4) a collaboration with Beijing University to put in place a birth cohort.

Médicaments et grossesse

 

Anick Bérard

Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier Ste-Justine

 

Domaine : santé de la mère, des enfants et des adolescents

Programme  Chaires de recherche

Concours 2015-2016

Il est estimé que jusqu'à 50% des femmes enceintes prennent des médicaments prescrits pendant la grossesse. Les antidépresseurs sont parmi les plus utilisés même si les données probantes suggèrent des risques importants. Par ailleurs, jusqu'à 30% des couples souffrent d'infertilité et depuis août 2010, au Québec, jusqu'à 3 essais de fécondation in-vitro sont remboursés par la RAMQ. L'identification, le traitement ainsi que le suivi des femmes enceintes déprimées, et le suivi systématique des mères et des enfants issus de la procréation assistée sont des priorités pour le Ministère de la santé, des loisirs et des sports (MSSS) du Québec – ces thèmes sont au cœur de mon programme de recherche depuis 2002.

En continuité avec le programme de recherche et les infrastructures que j'ai développés au cours des 12 dernières années, je propose de continuer mon travail sur a) L'effet de l'utilisation des antidépresseurs durant la grossesse sur le risque de prématurité, petit poids à la naissance (PPN) et malformations congénitales majeures (MCM), b) L'effet de l'utilisation des antidépresseurs durant la grossesse sur le risque d'autisme, c) l'Étude DETECT-PD – Détection, traitement et suivi des femmes avec maladies mentales pendant et après la grossesse, et d) L'effet des techniques de procréation assistée sur le nouveau-né.

De plus, une étude sera mise en place – La cohorte HIV et grossesse: effet sur la mère et l'enfant ; une collaboration avec l'Université Claude-Bernard à Lyon, pour la mise en place d'une cohorte de grossesses française ainsi qu'une collaboration avec l'Université de Beijing pour une cohorte de naissances.