Continuum de risque pour la psychose et vulnérabilité au stress

 

Jai Shah

Centre de recherche de l'IUSM Douglas

 

Domaine : neurosciences, santé mentale et toxicomanies

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 1

Concours 2015-2016

Early life adversity and stressful environments are associated with an increased risk for psychotic disorders, but there is still little understanding of how the biology and psychology of stress interact to cause psychosis in those at risk. By following how these elements evolve together over time, we will learn about their interaction and devise ways of intervening early and appropriately.  

In a range of projects, my team will study groups of young people (age 12-35) with vulnerability for psychosis, including those at clinical high-risk, familial high-risk (who have a relative with psychosis), and healthy controls. These groups will be asked about their subjective stress, their psychiatric and psychotic symptoms, and will provide stress-related biological measures (cortisol in saliva, skin conductance, heart rate, blood pressure, and brain structures including the hippocampus and pituitary). Groups will be compared initially and then annually for up to 3 years to determine which individuals go on to develop a full-blown psychosis.  Separately, we will assess young people at familial high-risk for a variety of emerging mental disorders to see if these measures are specific to psychosis risk or generalizable across risk for mental illness.

We predict that at-risk groups of all types will show dysregulation in the biological measures, moreso in those who are experiencing greater stress and symptoms.  We also predict that different factors will influence the relationship between stress and symptoms over time, and that dysregulated stress response will be common across risk for all mental illnesses rather than specific to psychosis.  Finally, we will test ways of introducing screening tests into early intervention programs.

Results from this research will help us to identify stress-vulnerability "signatures" of risk for psychosis and other mental illnesses in young people.  Ultimately, we will use these findings to develop strategies for early detection, prevention and intervention.

Continuum de risque pour la psychose et vulnérabilité au stress

 

Jai Shah

Centre de recherche de l'IUSM Douglas

 

Domaine : neurosciences, santé mentale et toxicomanies

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 1

Concours 2015-2016

L'adversité durant l'enfance et le stress environnemental sont associés à un risque psychotique élevé, cependant il y a encore peu de compréhension de comment la biologie et la psychologie du stress interagissent pour provoquer la psychose. En suivant comment ces éléments évoluent ensemble, nous apprendrons leurs interactions pour trouver des moyens d'intervenir de façon appropriée et précoce.

Des groupes de jeunes (12-35 ans) vulnérable à la psychose, compris ceux à haut risque clinique, à haut risque familiaux (un parent de la famille avec la psychose), et des contrôles sains seront comparés dans nos études. Les participants seront interviewés sur leur stress subjectif, symptômes psychiatriques et psychotiques, et évalués pour des paramètres biologiques (cortisol détecté dans la salive, la conductance de la peau, la fréquence cardiaque, la pression artérielle, et les structures cérébrales) au début des études et suivi annuellement pendant 3 ans afin de déterminer lesquels ont développé une psychose. Les jeunes à haut risque familial pour une variété de troubles mentaux seront évalués pour examiner si ces mesures sont spécifiquement reliées au risque de psychose ou généralement à tous les risques de maladie mentale.

Nous prévoyons que tous les groupes à risque démontreront le dérèglement des mesures biologique, mais particulièrement ceux qui souffrent plus de stress. Nous prévoyons que des facteurs différents modifient la relation entre le stress et les symptômes au cours du temps, et que la réponse au stress dérégulée sera commune pour les maladies mentales plutôt que spécifique à la psychose. Nous testerons les moyens d'introduire des tests de dépistage dans les programmes d'intervention précoce.

Les résultats de cette recherche nous aideront à identifier des «signatures» du risque psychotique et d'autres maladies mentales pour élaborer des stratégies de détection, prévention et l'intervention précoce chez les jeunes.