Renaldo Battista


Renaldo Battista

Scientific director

Dr. Renaldo Battista is the new scientific director of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé. His appointment was effective July 3, 2012.

Dr. Battista has been a professor in the Department of Health Administration at Université de Montréal since 2004 and held the Canada Research Chair in Health Technology Assessment since 2005. In 2008, he was appointed senior scientific advisor to the Health Technology Assessment Unit (UETMIS) of the Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU) Sainte-Justine and made a member of its research centre.

Dr. Battista earned his medical degree from Université de Montréal. He then completed a master's in public health and a doctorate in health policy and management from Harvard University.

From 1982 to 2003, Dr. Battista was on staff in the departments of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and Medicine at McGill University. He was also president of the Québec Council for Health Technology Assessment (CETS) from 1994 to 2000 and president and CEO of the Québec Health Services and Technology Assessment Agency (AETMIS) from 2000 to 2004.

Dr. Battista served as a member of the board of directors of the Canadian Coordinating Office for Health Technology Assessment (CCOHTA) from 1994 to 2000 and was a very active member of the International Society of Technology Assessment in Health Care (ISTAHC), which he chaired from 1995 to 1997. He collaborated with several colleagues to create the International Network of Agencies of Health Technology Assessment in Health Care (INAHTA) in 1993 and played an advisory role in the development of health technology assessment in several countries, including France, Spain and Italy. In 2001, he cofounded the International Masters Program in Health Technology Assessment and Management (the ULYSSES program). In 2006, Dr. Battista was elected as a member of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

His most significant scientific contributions are driven by three themes: the integration of preventative services into clinical practice, the development and implementation of guidelines for clinical practice and health technologies assessment.

Renaldo Battista


Renaldo Battista

Directeur scientifique

Le Dr Battista est entré en fonction à titre de directeur scientifique du Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé le 3 juillet 2012.

Le Dr Battista est professeur titulaire au Département d'administration de la santé de l'Université de Montréal depuis 2004 et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en évaluation des technologies et des modes d'intervention en santé depuis 2005. Il est également conseiller scientifique principal à l'Unité d'évaluation des technologies et des modes d'intervention du CHU Sainte-Justine et membre de son Centre de recherche, et ce depuis 2008.

Le Dr Battista a obtenu son doctorat en médecine de l'Université de Montréal pour ensuite faire une maîtrise en santé publique et un doctorat en politiques et gestion de la santé à l'Université Harvard.

De 1982 à 2003, le Dr Battista a été professeur au Département d'épidémiologie et de biostatistique ainsi qu'au Département de médecine de l'Université McGill. Il a également été président du Conseil d'évaluation des technologies de la santé du Québec (CETS) de 1994 à 2000, puis président-directeur général de l'Agence d'évaluation des technologies et des modes d'intervention en santé (AETMIS), de 2000 à 2004.

Le Dr Battista a été membre du conseil de direction de l'Office canadien de coordination de l'évaluation des technologies de la santé (OCCETS) de 1994 à 2000 et a assumé plusieurs fonctions à l'International Society of Technology Assessment in Health Care (ISTAHC), dont la présidence de 1995 à 1997. Il a collaboré avec plusieurs collègues à la création de l'International Network of Agencies of Health Technology Assessment (INAHTA) en 1993 et a joué un rôle de conseiller dans le développement de l'évaluation des technologies et des modes d'intervention en santé dans plusieurs pays, dont la France, l'Espagne et l'Italie. Il a été l'un des cofondateurs, en 2001, de la maîtrise internationale en évaluation des technologies de la santé et gestion (programme ULYSSES). Il a été élu membre de l'Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé en 2006.

Ses contributions scientifiques les plus importantes se regroupent autour de trois thèmes : l'intégration des services préventifs à la pratique clinique, le développement et l'implantation de lignes directrices en pratique clinique, et l'évaluation des technologies de la santé.