Marie-Pierre Cossette


Marie-Pierre Cossette

PhD student in psychology

Concordia University

Marie-Pierre Cossette is a PhD student in psychology at Concordia University. She specializes in neuroscience and has focused her research on the neural circuitry that underlies reward response. She explores cell body activation in the ventral tegmental area and dopamine release in the nucleus accumbens—regions that are triggered when natural rewards such as food and artificial rewards such as drugs are received. Marie-Pierre Cossette aims to pinpoint the areas in the brain that are critical to reward assessment.

She began her research career in her first year of undergraduate studies in Peter Shizgal's laboratory at Concordia University, where she was actively involved in the implementation of optogenetics, a revolutionary neuroscience technique. The method makes it possible to activate and inhibit a single neuron type, providing an unprecedented level of specificity. She is also mastering a new technique derived from CLARITY, another recent technological breakthrough, which enables experts to visualize neuronal connections without the interference of the membranes.

She joined the board of directors of the FRQS as a student representative and chairs the intersectoral student committee. She was awarded the NSERC Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship as well as grants from Concordia University.

Marie-Pierre Cossette


Marie-Pierre Cossette

Étudiante au doctorat en psychologie

Université Concordia

Marie-Pierre Cossette est étudiante au doctorat en psychologie à l'Université Concordia. Spécialisée en neuroscience, elle étudie les foyers d'activités neuronales présents en situation de récompenses. Elle examine l'activation de corps cellulaires dans l'air ventrale tegmentale et la libération de dopamine dans le noyau accumbens. Ces régions sont engagées par l'obtention de récompenses à la fois naturelles comme la nourriture, ou par des récompenses artificielles comme les drogues. Marie-Pierre s'efforce d'identifier quelles régions du cerveau sont essentielles pour l'évaluation des récompenses.

Elle a débuté sa carrière de recherche dans le laboratoire du docteur Peter Shizgal à l'Université Concordia dès sa première année au baccalauréat. Marie-Pierre a participé activement à l'implantation d'une nouvelle technique révolutionnaire en neuroscience dans son laboratoire : l'optogénétique. Cette méthode  permet l'activation et l'inhibition d'un seul type de neurones à la fois, un degré de spécificité sans précédent. Elle apprend aussi une technique issue d'une autre percée technologique récente, CLARITY, qui permet de visualiser les connections neuronales sans l'interférence des membranes.

Elle siège au C.A. du FRQS à titre de Représentante étudiante et est présidente du comité intersectoriel étudiant. Elle est soutenue financièrement par la bourse Alexander Graham Bell du Canada du CRSNG et des bourses internes de l'Université Concordia.