Louis Gendron


Louis Gendron

Professor

Faculty of medecine, Université de Sherbrooke

Louis Gendron is an associate professor in the faculty of medicine and health sciences at Université de Sherbrooke. He oversees the pain research axis at the Centre de recherche clinique Étienne-Le Bel du CHUS and the university's graduate programs in physiology. He is also an active member of the Institut de pharmacologie de Sherbrooke, the Québec Pain Research Network and the executive committee of the International Narcotics Research Conference.

In 2003, Mr. Gendron earned his PhD in physiology from Université de Sherbrooke and went on to complete two postdoctoral training programs at McGill University and the University of Washington in Seattle.

His research is chiefly focused on the biomolecular characteristics of the delta opioid receptors (DOR) involved in pain modulation in humans and animals in an effort to better understand the roles, regulation and mechanisms of action of DOR with regards to pain. The young researcher aims to establish the therapeutic value of selective delta agonists in the treatment of chronic pain (e.g. arthritis, bone cancer) so as to develop new therapies.

Mr. Gendron recently distinguished himself when he demonstrated the significant analgesic effects of DOR and implemented an animal platform to explore whether selective delta antagonists have analgesic, antianxiety and antidepressant properties in animals suffering from chronic pain.

Louis Gendron


Louis Gendron

Professeur agrégé et Directeur des programmes de physiologie

Faculté de médecine, Université de Sherbrooke

Louis Gendron est professeur agrégé de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Il dirige l'axe douleur du Centre de recherche clinique Étienne-Le Bel du CHUS ainsi que le programme d'études supérieures en physiologie. Il est aussi un membre actif de l'Institut de pharmacologie de Sherbrooke, du Réseau québécois de recherche sur la douleur, ainsi que du conseil exécutif de l'International Narcotics Research Conference.

M. Gendron a obtenu en 2003 un doctorat en physiologie de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Par la suite, il a effectué deux stages postdoctoraux, le premier à l'Université McGill, et le second, à l'Université de Washington, à Seattle.

Ses principaux projets de recherche portent sur la biomoléculaire des récepteurs opioïdes delta (DOPR), impliqués dans la modulation de la douleur chez l'humain et l'animal. Il cherche à élucider les rôles, la régulation et les mécanismes d'action des DOPR dans la douleur. Il compte ainsi établir la valeur thérapeutique des agonistes sélectifs delta pour le traitement de la douleur chronique (ex., arthrite, cancer de l'os) afin de développer de nouvelles thérapies.

Le jeune chercheur s'est récemment distingué notamment par la démonstration des importants effets analgésiques associés aux DOPR ainsi que par la mise sur pied d'une plateforme animale lui permettant de vérifier si les agonistes sélectifs delta peuvent avoir à la fois des propriétés analgésiques, anxiolytiques et antidépressives chez des animaux souffrant de douleur chronique.