Louis Beaulieu


Louis Beaulieu

General director

Transplant Québec

Louis Beaulieu is the Chief Executive Officer and Secretary of the Board of Directors of Transplant Québec, a Québec-wide agency mandated by the Minister of Health and Social Services to coordinate organ donation in Québec.

Louis Beaulieu is a member in good standing of the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec. From 1990 to 1996, he was the President of the multidisciplinary advisory board of the Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec, where he worked as a speech therapist. From 1996 to 2008, he was the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec. Alongside this, he was the Vice President (1998-2006) and then the President (2006-2008) of the Conseil interprofessionnel du Québec.

Louis Beaulieu obtained his first Bachelor's degree, in Arts, from Université Laval (1986). He earned his second Bachelor's degree in 1989, followed in 1993 by a Master's degree in speech therapy and audiology from Université de Montréal. Ever since, in his capacity as practitioner and administrator, Louis Beaulieu has acted in the public arena, through the printed word, and within government circles as an advocate for speech therapists and audiologists and the key role they play in assessing, treating and preventing communication impairment. He has turned his attention to the promotion of organ donation for transplant patients in Québec since 2008.

Louis Beaulieu


Louis Beaulieu

Directeur général

Transplant Québec

Depuis septembre 2008, Louis Beaulieu est directeur général et secrétaire du conseil d'administration de Transplant Québec, un organisme national mandaté par le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec pour coordonner le don d'organes au Québec.

Membre en règle de l'Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec, Louis Beaulieu a occupé de 1990 à 1996 le poste de président du conseil multidisciplinaire à l'Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec, où il agissait comme orthophoniste. Il fut ensuite, de 1996 à 2008, président-directeur général de l'Ordre des orthophonistes et audiologistes du Québec. Parallèlement, il a été successivement vice-président (1998-2006), puis président (2006-2008) du Conseil interprofessionnel du Québec.

Louis Beaulieu a obtenu un premier baccalauréat (ès arts) de l'Université Laval (1986). En 1989, il obtient un autre baccalauréat, puis un diplôme de maîtrise (1993), cette fois en orthophonie et audiologie, de l'Université de Montréal. Depuis lors, à titre de praticien et de gestionnaire, Louis Beaulieu est intervenu sur plusieurs tribunes publiques ou forums, dans de nombreuses publications et auprès du gouvernement pour valoriser le rôle central joué par les orthophonistes et les audiologistes dans l'évaluation, le traitement et la prévention des troubles de la communication. Depuis 2008, il s'investit dans la promotion du don d'organes au Québec au bénéfice des personnes en attente d'une transplantation.