Une approche interdisciplinaire des problèmes reliés au poids: Implications pour la santé des populations

 

Angela Alberga

Université Concordia

 

Domaine : Santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 1

Concours 2017-2018

Body weight-related issues including obesity, physical inactivity, eating disorders are complex far beyond individual control. Preliminary American data suggests that what appears as prevention could actually be harmful and result in unintentional consequences such as weight stigma and discrimination towards people with large bodies and body image disturbance, deterring individuals from engaging in healthy behaviours. My research program aims to better understand how broader environmental influences such as (i) societal, and (ii) school and other institutional factors, influence weight-related issues including obesity, eating disorders, physical inactivity and weight bias.

Using qualitative and quantitative research methods, my first research objective is to evaluate the unintended consequences of reports, policies, public health campaigns that are geared towards prevention of weight-related issues. Links to how these societal influences relate to the incidence and prevalence of obesity, disordered eating and practices of healthy and unhealthy behaviors will be investigated. Promotion of physical activity and healthy behaviors also requires changes to the content and process of university programs that train students and practitioners in the health and education sectors.

My second research objective will examine the effects of a new health curriculum on weight-related issues among two samples (i) students in Exercise Science and (ii) practicing health professionals in a clinical setting. Attitudes and beliefs about obesity, health behaviours and clinical skills and competencies will be measured before and after the intervention in comparison to a control group who will not be receiving an intervention.

Results of this work will inform future health policies, public health campaigns and recommendations to assist with promoting health for Canadians. This research will evaluate programs and training in the health, education and policy sectors to help prevent and better manage obesity as well as refine curricula and improve quality of care and experiences for students and patients.

Une approche interdisciplinaire des problèmes reliés au poids: Implications pour la santé des populations

 

Angela Alberga

Université Concordia

 

Domaine : Santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 1

Concours 2017-2018

Les problèmes reliés au poids incluant l'obésité, la sédentarité, la perturbation de l'image corporelle, les troubles de l'alimentation sont compliqués et hors du contrôle de l'individu. Des données préliminaires suggèrent que les interventions actuelles en prévention peuvent avoir des conséquences involontaires néfastes, comme mener à des préjugés sur le poids et à une perturbation de l'image corporelle, phénomènes qui peuvent miner l'engagement à de saines habitudes de vie. Mon objectif est de mieux comprendre comment les facteurs de (i) société, et (ii) l'école, l'université et autres institutions influencent les problèmes reliés au poids incluant l'obésité, la sédentarité, la perturbation de l'image corporelle, les troubles de l'alimentation et les préjugés sur le poids.

En utilisant des méthodes mixtes, mon premier objectif est d'examiner les effets des différents types de messages en santé (par ex. le choix des mots, des images, du vidéo) utilisés dans les rapports et les politiques en santé sur les attitudes et habitudes en matière d'activité physique et santé. La formation des professionnels en éducation et en santé doit changer afin d'intégrer les meilleures approches d'intervention auprès des jeunes et les adultes, pour des changements durables.

Mon deuxieme objectif sera d'évaluer les effets de l'éducation en santé dans un protocole contrôlé, auprès (i) des étudiants du premier cycle en Sciences de l'Exercice et (ii) des cliniciens dans un milieu clinique.

Ce programme évaluera les cours de formation dans les secteurs de santé, afin d'améliorer la prévention en obésité et raffinera les programmes d'études, la qualité des traitements et les rehaussera les expériences des futurs professionnels et de leurs patients. Les résultats de ce programme informeront les directives futures et les normes québécoises et canadiennes en communication de la santé.