Traumas interpersonnels et santé: aspects systémiques, modèles intégrateurs et intervention

 

Natacha Godbout

Université du Québec à Montréal [UQAM]

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2018-2019

Despite prevention campaigns, the rates of childhood interpersonal trauma (CIT; child maltreatment, sexual abuse, neglect, etc.) remain high and the mechanisms that give rise to long-lasting negative health problems in victims remain poorly understood. Given its interpersonal nature (i.e., caused by another human), CIT may lead to particularly dreadful effects on psycho-relational health, such as chronic psychological distress and hampered abilities to establish or maintain healthy couple relationships in adulthood. Yet, couple relationships are recognized as the most significant relationships for a majority of adults, as well as a key determinant of physical health and longevity. The overarching goal of the research program "traumas interpersonels et santé" is to elucidate the pathways by which adult victims of interpersonal trauma, especially CIT, experience persistent negative health outcomes, in order to guide effective empirically-based interventions for them.

Using a multi-sample, multi-method, multi-informant and systemic approach, this research program will empirically assess integrative models of the mechanisms linking CIT to negative health outcomes, study systemic health effects of CIT within couples, test the efficacy of systemic integrative treatment targeting the effects of CIT in young sexual offenders and their families, and examine the specific needs of male victims of interpersonal trauma.

The proposed program should contribute to ongoing endeavours to break the cycle of violence, as well as promote and enhance the well-being of interpersonal trauma survivors, thereby benefiting society as a whole. Beyond contributing to empirical and theoretical refinements, this program will ultimately help to elucidate why many trauma survivors experience significant distress and contribute to the elaboration of effective and properly-tailored services, not only responding to current knowledge gaps, but also setting the stage for ongoing research projects and collaborations to guide health services offered to trauma survivors.

Traumas interpersonnels et santé: aspects systémiques, modèles intégrateurs et intervention

 

Natacha Godbout

Université du Québec à Montréal [UQAM]

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2018-2019

En dépit de nombreuses campagnes de prévention, les taux de traumas interpersonnels subis en enfance (TIE, agression sexuelle, négligence, etc.) sont alarmants et les mécanismes qui rendent compte des difficultés de santé chez les victimes demeurent sous-documentés. Les TIE engendrent des effets particulièrement néfastes sur la santé psycho-relationnelle des victimes et une altération des capacités à établir ou maintenir des relations de couple saines à l'âge adulte. Or, chez une majorité d'adultes, les relations de couple sont les relations les plus significatives, ainsi qu'un déterminant clé de la santé physique et de la longévité. L'objectif général du programme « Traumas interpersonnels et santé » est d'élucider les voies par lesquelles les personnes ayant vécu un TIE éprouvent des difficultés de santé persistantes, afin d'orienter le développement d'interventions efficaces fondées sur les données empiriques.

En utilisant une approche systémique au sein de différents échantillons et l'utilisation de méthodes novatrices, ce programme de recherche évaluera des modèles intégratifs des mécanismes qui expliquent les liens entre les TIE et la santé psycho-relationnelle, testera l'efficacité d'un traitement adapté aux jeunes auteurs d'agression sexuelle et leur famille et examinera les besoins spécifiques des hommes victimes de trauma interpersonnel.

Ce programme constitue une riche contribution aux efforts visant à briser le cycle de la violence, ainsi qu'à promouvoir le bien-être des victimes de traumas interpersonnels, ce qui profitera à la société dans son ensemble. En plus de contribuer au raffinement théorique et empirique des connaissances scientifiques sur les effets à long terme des traumas interpersonnels sur la santé, les résultats de ce programme de recherche appuieront les professionnels de la santé dans leurs efforts visant à favoriser le rétablissement des victimes, prépareront le terrain à de futurs projets de recherche novateurs et des collaborations visant à améliorer les services de santé offerts aux survivants de traumas.