Ostéoporose et fractures : améliorer les résultats cliniques

 

Suzanne Morin

Université McGill

 

Domaine : appareil locomoteur et arthrite

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 2

Concours 2015-2016

Osteoporosis is a chronic disease characterized by microarchitectural deterioration of bone leading to skeletal fragility and fractures, which are associated with excess mortality, pain and decreased autonomy. Personal and societal costs of fractures are high, making it imperative to develop collaborative strategies that aim to accurately identify the population at risk, and improve clinical outcomes.

I intend to evaluate the complications that arise following hip, pelvic and thigh fractures, in order to enhance quality of care during the hospital stay and following discharge and to develop preventive strategies to reduce negative outcomes.

Fractures cause pain, which if relieved rapidly, improves wellbeing and reduces negative outcomes. I investigate novel ways to implement best-care practices in pain management in acute care facilities such as the emergency department, to ensure that analgesia is administered rapidly and effectively to patients with fractures.

Researchers have recently questioned the safety of calcium supplements as they might increase the risk of cardiovascular events, such as heart attacks and strokes. Because there are methodological concerns with these studies and because the exact cause behind these negative effects is not yet determined, many questions remain. Could calcium supplements be good for your bones but bad for your heart? We propose to estimate the effect of dietary intake of calcium as compared to supplemental calcium on markers of vascular and bone health in postmenopausal women in a clinical trial to determine whether calcium supplements have a different effect on vascular health than calcium obtained from the diet and shed light on the mechanisms that underlie these effects.

Achieving dissemination and uptake of health research depends on effective partnerships between researchers, clinicians, decision-makers and patient-partners; this purpose supports my research program.

Ostéoporose et fractures : améliorer les résultats cliniques

 

Suzanne Morin

Université McGill

 

Domaine : appareil locomoteur et arthrite

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 2

Concours 2015-2016

L'ostéoporose est une maladie associée à une détérioration de la microarchitecture osseuse qui se traduit par une fragilité du squelette et des fractures qui sont lourdes de conséquences. Les fractures entraînent souvent une hospitalisation, constituent une cause importante de perte d'autonomie et de morbimortalité et occasionnent des coûts sociaux élevés. Il est impératif de développer des stratégies permettant d'identifier précisément les individus à risque de fractures et d'améliorer les résultats cliniques.

Je propose d'évaluer et quantifier les complications qui surviennent suite aux fractures de la hanche, du bassin et de la cuisse afin d'améliorer la prestation des soins pendant l'hospitalisation et suite au congé afin de réduire les conséquences néfastes de ces fractures.

La fracture est source de douleur aiguë. La prise en charge de la douleur à l'urgence est souvent déficiente. L'implantation d'un programme novateur de gestion de la douleur nous permettra d'évaluer si la rapidité à laquelle l'analgésie est administrée à ceux qui souffrent de syndrome douloureux suite à une fracture est améliorée.
Des chercheurs ont récemment mis en doute la sécurité du calcium provenant des suppléments, car ce calcium pourrait augmenter le risque d'événements cardiovasculaires. Puisque ces études présentent plusieurs problèmes méthodologiques et que la cause de ces effets négatifs n'est pas encore déterminée, de nombreuses questions demeurent quant à la sécurité des suppléments calciques. Notre étude désire évaluer les effets du calcium provenant de l'alimentation comparativement au calcium obtenu sous forme de suppléments sur les marqueurs de la santé vasculaire et de la santé osseuse chez les femmes ménopausées.

Afin de promouvoir une dissémination efficace des résultats de nos recherches, nous nous sommes assurés de collaborations avec des intervenants de plusieurs paliers du réseau de la santé.