Le profilage nutritionnel en appui à la création d'environnements favorables à la saine alimentation

 

Marie-Eve Labonté

Université Laval

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 1

Concours 2019-2020

Enhancing the quality of the food supply is considered one of the cornerstones of healthier food environments. A critical first step toward this goal consists in getting a clear picture of the nutritional quality of foods and beverages that are offered to consumers on the market. Nutrient profiling is promoted as a method to characterize the overall nutritional quality (healthfulness) of foods and beverages. Indeed, nutrient profiling models evaluate the nutritional quality of a food based on its content in multiple nutrients (e.g. sugars, sodium, fibre), as opposed to relying only on the content in a single nutrient.

The proposed research program is aimed at generating data that will support the creation of healthier food environments using nutrient profiling as a reliable approach to characterize the overall nutritional quality of the food supply. Because the number of existing nutrient profiling models is proliferating worldwide, a first objective is to identify existing models that are potentially relevant for use in Quebec and in Canada. Because very few existing models have been validated, a second objective is to validate the identified models in different populations (adults, children) to determine which model is the most reliable indicator of the healthfulness of foods. Thirdly, the nutritional quality of foods of high importance to consumers (e.g. breakfast cereals, granola bars) will be evaluated using the most valid model.

Finally, additional analyses will allow verifying how the nutritional quality of foods is associated to factors known to influence food-purchasing decisions, such as food prices. Taken together, the results generated by this research program will provide useful information to knowledge users (e.g. government representatives) about which actions could be undertaken to improve the nutritional quality of the food supply and contribute to population health in Quebec and in Canada.

Le profilage nutritionnel en appui à la création d'environnements favorables à la saine alimentation

 

Marie-Eve Labonté

Université Laval

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 1

Concours 2019-2020

Améliorer la qualité de l'offre alimentaire est un aspect fondamental dans la création d'environnements alimentaires plus sains pour tous. Une étape primordiale pour l'atteinte de ce but consiste à dresser un portrait clair de la qualité nutritionnelle des aliments et breuvages offerts sur le marché. Le profilage nutritionnel est mis de l'avant comme méthode pour caractériser la qualité nutritionnelle « globale » des aliments et breuvages. En effet, les outils de profilage nutritionnel évaluent la qualité nutritionnelle d'un aliment en tenant compte de sa teneur en plusieurs nutriments (p. ex. sucres, sodium, fibres) plutôt qu'en un seul nutriment.

Le présent programme de recherche propose ainsi de générer des données qui pourront appuyer la création d'environnements alimentaires sains en utilisant le profilage nutritionnel comme méthode efficace pour caractériser la qualité nutritionnelle globale de l'offre alimentaire. Comme le nombre d'outils disponibles prolifère mondialement, un premier objectif vise à identifier des outils déjà existants potentiellement pertinents pour le Québec et le Canada. Parce que très peu d'outils ont été validés, un deuxième objectif vise à valider les outils identifiés dans différentes populations (adultes, enfants) afin de déterminer lequel est le meilleur indicateur de la consommation d'aliments « sains » et « moins sains ». Troisièmement, la qualité nutritionnelle d'aliments de grande importance pour les consommateurs (p. ex. céréales à déjeuner, barres granola) sera évaluée en fonction de l'outil le plus valide.

Enfin, des analyses permettront de vérifier comment la qualité nutritionnelle des aliments est associée à des caractéristiques reconnues pour leur influence sur les décisions d'achat des consommateurs, comme le prix de vente. L'ensemble des résultats obtenus fournira des pistes aux utilisateurs de connaissances (p. ex. représentants du gouvernement) quant aux actions à entreprendre pour améliorer la qualité de l'offre alimentaire et contribuer à la santé de la population québécoise et canadienne.