Implantation et évaluation de stratégies permettant l'optimisation de la collaboration interprofessionnelle dans le continuum de réadaptation AVC québécois

 

Isabelle Gaboury

Université de Sherbrooke

 

Domaine : services de santé

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2018-2019

Recent reports describe current stroke healthcare delivery processes, including those related to rehabilitation, as suboptimal. The failure to consider the patient and family members as partners, and the lack of flow and continuity of information throughout the care continuum, contribute to inefficient service delivery. Ineffective interprofessional collaboration within the stroke units, as well as among services provided during patients' rehabilitation and community reintegration has been shown to impact service delivery.

Based on existing gaps in stroke service delivery, the first study of this proposed research program relies on a structured communication model, takes advantage of electronic information sharing tools among team members, as well as an interprofessional shared decision making model to lead the teams. A mixed methods design was chosen to evaluate the acceptability, feasibility and effectiveness of the proposed intervention. Participating professionals in stroke rehabilitation continuums in four locations will be guided through a systematic care delivery transformation that focuses on inter professional collaboration using theory-based, validated strategies.

The second study is an innovative intervention to provide rehabilitation treatments through remote, live consultations with a group of clinicians. Medical information will be made accessible via telecommunication technologies to all professionals involved in the rehabilitation process, including the patients' primary care providers. This quasi-experimental trial will evaluate the effectiveness and the implementation of this intervention within three sites, while providing strategies to improve interprofessional collaboration and services integration.

This research program will generate evidence on how teams involved in stroke rehabilitation care could develop their teamwork skills, and improve and adopt efficient modes of communication. In addition, it will rely on multiple strategies to facilitate change within teams and improve their capacity to collaborate and to integrate care within the stroke unit and at transition points, all the while reflecting best practice guidelines.

Implantation et évaluation de stratégies permettant l'optimisation de la collaboration interprofessionnelle dans le continuum de réadaptation AVC québécois

 

Isabelle Gaboury

Université de Sherbrooke

 

Domaine : services de santé

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2018-2019

Des rapports récents décrivent les processus actuels de prestation de soins de réadaptation en santé cardio-vasculaire sous-optimaux. Le fait de ne pas tenir compte des patients et des membres de leur famille en tant que partenaires, le manque d'outils et de modèles pour guider les équipes, ainsi qu'une communication défaillante tout au long du continuum de soins pour les accidents vasculaire-cérébraux (AVC) contribuent à une prestation inefficace des soins.

En tenant compte des écarts documentés entre la pratique actuelle et les guides de meilleures pratiques en AVC, la première étude du programme de recherche proposé repose sur un modèle de communication structurée, profite des outils électroniques de partage d'informations entre les membres de l'équipe, ainsi que d'un modèle interprofessionnel de prise de décision partagé pour diriger les équipes. Un devis mixte a été choisi pour évaluer l'acceptabilité, la faisabilité et l'efficacité de l'intervention proposée. Les professionnels de quatre unités AVC québécoises seront guidées par une transformation systématique de la prestation des soins en mettant l'accent sur la collaboration interprofessionnelle.

La deuxième étude permettra la prestation de traitements de réadaptation via des consultations à distance et en direct avec un groupe de cliniciens. Un devis quasi-expérimental évaluera l'efficacité et la mise en œuvre de cette intervention dans trois sites, tout en offrant des stratégies pour améliorer la collaboration interprofessionnelle et l'intégration des services.

Ce programme de recherche programme permettra de renforcer les connaissances sur les processus de collaboration des équipes de réadaptation et leurs partenaires ainsi que leurs répercussions sur la santé des patients. Il permettra de mieux comprendre dans quelle mesure l'optimisation des pratiques de collaboration dans le continuum AVC peut améliorer la santé des patients/familles ayant vécu un AVC, tout en ayant des retombées concrètes pour la pratique et le développement professionnel des professionnels de soins impliqués.