Facteurs de risque et de protection durant les périodes de transition

 

Mayada Elsabbagh

Université McGill

 

Domaine : neurosciences, santé mentale et toxicomanies

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2019-2020

Autism is a complex condition with variable impact on different individuals across the lifespan. We already know what outcomes we want to prevent that often accompany autism: disability, poor health, and exclusion.  Discovery of risk and resilience processes in the developing brain is key to understanding disorders like autism. With this knowledge, we can design strategies to identify and support those at risk, so that they reach their optimal outcomes. The translational program in risk and resilience addresses this goal by simultaneously advancing discovery while ensuring that available knowledge is used to transform health systems.

Our objectives are (1) to investigate underlying brain function mechanisms that amplify risk or enhance resilience, (2) map developmental pathways that differentiate individuals in their outcomes, and (3) initiate QRR (Quebec Risk and Resilience Cohort), Quebec's first study in risk and resilience within periods of transition. We enrol infants with a biological risk factor increasing their chances of developing autism/related disorder in childhood and autistic youth who are at risk for mental illness. We will follow up infants and youth over a two-year period to investigate brain and behavioural development and monitor outcomes. Our program also uses translational strategies to ensure maximal benefits to other researchers, families, and health systems. We use ‘open science' principles, expanding access to previously collected and new data.

We integrate our research within routine care pathways in hospitals by involving families, professionals, and health systems' decision makers locally and internationally. Finally, we begin to translate available knowledge into effective and scalable ‘care packages' to be delivered by front-line professionals. We tailor and pilot test these interventions with QRR families, building local and international capacity towards clinical trials in the future. In doing so, we can reduce the current global burden on society.

Facteurs de risque et de protection durant les périodes de transition

 

Mayada Elsabbagh

Université McGill

 

Domaine : neurosciences, santé mentale et toxicomanies

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2019-2020

L'autisme est une condition complexe dont l'impact varie d'une personne à l'autre tout au long de sa vie. Nous connaissons les variables que nous souhaitons prévenir accompagnant l'autisme : handicap, piètre santé et exclusion. Découvrir le développement des risques et la résilience durant le développement du cerveau est la clé pour comprendre les troubles comme l'autisme. Cette connaissance permettra de créer des stratégies d'identification et de soutien pour les personnes à risque afin qu'elles puissent atteindre leur plein potentiel. Le programme translationnel étudiant les risques et la résilience adresse cet objectif en s'assurant que les données disponibles puissent transformer les systèmes de santé.

Nos objectifs sont : 1) Étudier les mécanismes fonctionnels cérébraux amplifiant les risques et consolidant la résilience, 2) Tracer les trajectoires développementales distinguant les individus, et 3) Débuter la première étude québécoise sur les risques et résilience lors des transitions. Nous recrutons des nourrissons ayant un facteur de risque biologique augmentant la probabilité d'un diagnostic d'autisme/trouble lié à l'enfance et des jeunes autistes à risque d'un trouble de santé mentale. Nous les suivrons pendant deux ans pour étudier leur développement (cerveau et comportements). Notre programme utilise des stratégies du modèle translationnel afin d'assurer des retombées pour les chercheurs, les familles et les systèmes de santé. Nous utilisons les principes d'une ‘‘science ouverte'' permettant d'accéder à de nouvelles données et celles collectées précédemment.

Nous intégrons notre recherche dans la trajectoire de soins des hôpitaux en intégrant familles, professionnels et décideurs politiques locaux et internationaux. Enfin, à l'aide des données disponibles, nous commençons à bâtir des interventions offertes par les professionnels de la communauté. Nous adaptons et testons des projets-pilotes auprès des familles, développant les ressources locales et internationales menant à des essais cliniques. Il sera possible alors de réduire nettement les coûts globaux des soins.