État de santé à long terme des enfants nés de mères atteintes de polyarthrite rhumatoïde

 

Evelyne Vinet

Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill

 

Domaine : appareil locomoteur et arthrite

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 1

Concours 2015-2016

Background: Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is an autoimmune disease frequently affecting women during childbearing years. There is evidence suggesting children born to women with RA may have increased risk of autism, heart defects, and hematological cancers (leukemias, lymphomas)compared to children from general population. In addition, although previous studies have shown that RA patients are heavy consumers of health-care services and that RA pregnancies are at a higher risk of complications, no one has evaluated health-care costs occurring in RA pregnancies compared to pregnancies from general population.

Objectives: My research program objectives are to determine if RA offspring have increased risk of autism, heart defects, and hematological cancers compared to children from general population, as well as to evaluate if RA pregnancies result in higher health-care costs compared to pregnancies from general population.

Methods: I will use data from Quebec's administrative health-care databases to create the "CHildren Of Rheumatoid arthritis mothers Database (CHORD)", which will include a group of children born to RA mothers and matched control group of children born to unaffected mothers. I will then determine the diagnoses of autism, heart defects, and hematological cancers occurring in these children and calculate the risk for these health problems in RA offspring compared to the control group. I will also evaluate the health-care costs associated with RA pregnancies compared to control pregnancies.

Significance of my research: My research program will inform us on the risk of autism, heart defects, and hematological cancers faced by RA offspring and help clinicians appropriately counsel women with RA contemplating pregnancy. In addition, my study of medical costs in RA pregnancies will estimate the economic burden of RA pregnancies, determine risk factors for higher costs, and identify areas of heavy health-care use that might lead to cost-saving interventions and better management of pregnant RA women.

État de santé à long terme des enfants nés de mères atteintes de polyarthrite rhumatoïde

 

Evelyne Vinet

Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill

 

Domaine : appareil locomoteur et arthrite

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 1

Concours 2015-2016

Introduction : la polyarthrite rhumatoïde (PAR) est une maladie auto-immune qui affecte fréquemment les femmes pendant la grossesse. Certaines données suggèrent que les enfants nés de mères atteintes de PAR ont un risque plus élevé d'autisme, de malformations au coeur, et de cancers hématologiques (i.e. leucémies et lymphomes) que les enfants nés de mères en santé. De plus, personne n'a encore étudié les coûts médicaux associés aux grossesses de femmes avec PAR comparativement aux grossesses de femmes en santé.

Objectifs : mon programme de recherche a comme objectifs de déterminer si les enfants nés de mères avec PAR ont un risque plus élevé d'autisme, de malformations au coeur et de cancers hématologiques que les enfants nés de mères en santé. De plus, ma recherche évaluera si les grossesses de femmes avec PAR résultent en des coûts médicaux plus élevés que les grossesses survenant chez des femmes en santé.  

Méthodes : je vais utiliser des données provenant des banques de données administratives du système québécois de santé pour sélectionner un groupe d'enfants nés de mères atteintes de PAR et un groupe contrôle d'enfants jumelés et nés de mères qui ne sont pas atteintes de PAR. Je vais ensuite déterminer les diagnostics d'autisme, de malformations au coeur, et de cancers hématologiques survenant chez ces enfants et évaluer les coûts médicaux survenant pendant les grossesses.

Signification de ma recherche : mon programme de recherche  nous informera sur les risques d'autisme, de malformations au coeur, et de cancers hématologiques auxquels font face les enfants nés de mères atteintes de PAR. De plus, l'étude des coûts médicaux associés aux grossesses de femmes avec PAR nous renseignera sur le fardeau économique de ces grossesses.