Défis statistiques en recherche en santé respiratoire

 

Andrea Benedetti

CUSM - Institut thoracique de Montréal

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 1

Concours 2014-2015

My research over the next four years will focus on statistical challenges with applications in respiratory health research.  The Collaborative Group for Meta-Analysis of Individual Patient Data in Multi-Drug Resistant Tuberculosis (IPD-MDRTB) has assembled individual patient data on treatment outcomes in multiple drug resistant (MDR) tuberculosis (TB) patients from 32 observational studies comprising over 9000 individual patients.  This database offers a unique opportunity to address methodologic issues in IPD-MA and to investigate additional questions related to MDR-TB.
 
The overall goals of the primary project described in this proposal are to (1) advance statistical methodology for the analysis of individual patient data meta-analysis and using the insights developed, (2) investigate the effectiveness of surgery as treatment for MDR-TB.
 
IPD-MA are the gold standard of meta-analytic methods, and increasingly performed.  However, several questions regarding the analytic approach remain unanswered which I intend to address. The guidelines that I develop will allow data analysts to make the best decisions when analyzing this type of data, and enhance the robustness of their conclusions.  The methods developed here will have a wide applicability in many different domains.

These methodologic developments will also let us make the best use of the IPD-MDRTB.  The use of surgery as adjunctive treatment remains controversial, given the substantial risks of the procedures, varied results, and likely confounding by indication.
 
Over the next 4 years, my research plan will also include:
1. Statistical challenges in molecular epidemiology with applications to TB
2. Smoothing in the context of mixed models with applications to respiratory health

All three projects will result in guidelines that will enable researchers to use novel and sophisticated statistical methods to their greatest advantage, while maintaining statistical integrity and validity of the analyses.

Défis statistiques en recherche en santé respiratoire

 

Andrea Benedetti

CUSM - Institut thoracique de Montréal

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 1

Concours 2014-2015

Au cours des prochains quatre ans, ma recherche portera principalement sur les défis statistiques en recherche en santé respiratoire. Le groupe collaboratif pour la méta-analyse de données de patients individuels (MA-DPI) en tuberculose (TB) multirésistante aux médicaments (MRM) a assemblé des données sur les résultats de traitements en TB-MRM  issus de 32 études d'observation qui comprennent plus de 9000 patients individuels. Cette base de données nous offre la chance unique d'adresser les problèmes de méthodologie en MA-DPI et d'approfondir des questions additionnelles relatives au TB-MRM.

Les buts généraux du projet principal sont de : 1) faire avancer la méthodologie statistique dans le cadre de la MA-DPI; 2) utilisant les nouvelles connaissances développées, enquêter sur l'efficacité de la chirurgie comme traitement de la TB-MRM.
La MA-DPI est l'étalon de référence des méthodes méta-analytiques et est de plus en plus utilisée. Toutefois, plusieurs questions relatives à l'approche analytique demeurent sans réponses et j'aimerais y remédier. Les lignes directrices que je développe permettront aux analystes de données de prendre les meilleures décisions lors de l'analyse de ce type de données.  Les méthodes développées auront une vaste applicabilité dans divers domaines.

Ces développements méthodologiques nous permettront également l'usage optimal du MA-DPI-TB.  La chirurgie à titre de traitement auxiliaire demeure controversée étant donné les risques des procédures et les résultats variables.

Au cours des 4 prochaines années, mon plan de recherche inclura également :
1. Les défis statistiques en épidémiologie moléculaire, avec application à la TB
2. Le lissage des données dans le contexte de modèles mixtes avec application en santé respiratoire.

Tous trois projets donneront lieu à des lignes directrices qui permettront aux chercheurs d'utiliser des méthodes statistiques de pointes sophistiquées tout en maintenant l'intégrité statistique et la validité des analyses.