Comprendre et renforcer le rôle des familles afin d'améliorer la santé mentale des jeunes

 

Srividya Iyer

Université McGill

 

Domaine : neurosciences, santé mentale et toxicomanies

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 1

Concours 2015-2016

Most Canadian youth needing mental healthcare face the problems of delayed detection, poor access and unengaging or poor-quality care. My research program therefore seeks to create and use pertinent knowledge to promote earlier detection and timelier, more effective care. Among young people, it is often families who notice the need for, seek and play a supportive role in mental healthcare. I therefore focus on the family's role. Doing so also helps address important knowledge gaps about the positive aspects, modes, processes, experiences and impacts of family involvement in youth mental healthcare, few of which have been studied in enough detail.

My program involves the Prevention and Early Intervention Program for Psychosis (PEPP), a leading specialized early intervention program for psychosis and ACCESS, a multi-stakeholder pan-Canadian youth mental health service transformation network. My leadership role in designing and managing both these initiatives gives me the resources, experience, expertise and influence required for my proposed research program.

My overall research objective is to develop a comprehensive understanding of the role of families in help-seeking and sustaining and restoring youth mental health, and to translate this understanding into improved outcomes for youth and their families.

Because my quest is one for detail and depth, I will use a combination of quantitative, qualitative and mixed-methods research and examine issues from multiple perspectives including those of young service users, families and clinicians.

My proposed program will significantly advance youth mental health research by clarifying the role of families and by broadening the range of dimensions, methods and perspectives assessed. My findings will influence the design of family interventions and suggest strategies to improve youth mental health outcomes. They will also inform and help sustain and expand Canada's nascent effort to positively transform youth mental healthcare.

Comprendre et renforcer le rôle des familles afin d'améliorer la santé mentale des jeunes

 

Srividya Iyer

Université McGill

 

Domaine : neurosciences, santé mentale et toxicomanies

Programme chercheurs-boursiers cliniciens - Junior 1

Concours 2015-2016

Les jeunes Canadiens nécessitant des soins de santé mentale rencontrent les problèmes de détection retardée, manque d'accès aux soins et soins peu engageants/de mauvaise qualité. Mon programme de recherche vise à créer/utiliser des connaissances pour promouvoir la détection précoce et les soins efficaces offerts rapidement. C'est souvent les familles qui reconnaissent le besoin pour des soins de santé mentale, qui les recherchent et qui jouent un rôle de soutien. Subséquemment, je me concentre sur le rôle de la famille. Cela permettra également de répondre aux lacunes dans nos connaissances sur les aspects positifs, les processus, et les impacts de la participation familiale aux soins de santé mentale des jeunes.

Mon programme implique le PEPP, un programme d'intervention précoce spécialisé pour les psychoses, et ACCESS, un réseau de transformation de services de santé mentale des jeunes. Mon rôle de leader dans ces initiatives me donne les ressources, l'expérience, l'expertise et l'influence nécessaires pour mon programme de recherche.

Mon objectif est de développer une compréhension approfondie du rôle des familles dans la recherche d'aide et dans le maintien/restauration de la santé mentale des jeunes, et de traduire cette compréhension dans une amélioration des résultats pour les jeunes et leurs familles.

Je vais utiliser la recherche quantitative, qualitative, et la méthodologie mixte, et je vais examiner les questions de multiples points de vue (des jeunes, des familles, etc.).

Mon programme fera progresser la recherche sur la santé mentale des jeunes en clarifiant le rôle des familles et en élargissant la gamme de méthodes et de perspectives évaluées. Mes résultats influenceront les interventions familiales et amélioreront les résultats de santé mentale des jeunes. Ils aideront à maintenir et développer l'effort au Canada de transformer les soins de santé mentale des jeunes.