Améliorer la santé mentale des populations vulnérables : une approche misant sur le développement du pouvoir d'agir

 

Janie Houle

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2016-2017

This research project aims to better understand how empowerment can contribute to the improvement of mental health in two vulnerable populations: persons suffering from anxious/depressive disorders and persons living in low income housing (HLM). We use a knowledge merging approach in which researchers (scientific knowledge) interact with decision-makers and clinicians (professional knowledge), as well as with persons directly concerned by the problematic (experiential knowledge), in order to develop novel interventions for mental health improvement.

Axis 1. Recovery from anxious/depressive disorders. The first study aims to evaluate an intervention called "Aller mieux à ma façon", which supports the self-management of anxious/depressive disorders. A total of 180 participants will be randomly assigned to one of the three following groups: 1) intervention facilitated by a professional (psychologist or social worker); 2) intervention facilitated by a peer helper (e.g., a person recovering from such a disorder, trained to help others to recover); and 3) control group. The second study wishes to identify best practices of short-term interventions offered to people suffering from anxious/depressive disorders by CLSC adult mental health services.

Axis 2. Improvement of mental health in HLM residents. This second axis wishes to contribute to the reduction of social inequalities in health by implementing and evaluating a participatory research action strategy designed for HLM, titled Flash sur mon quartier! The first study will allow us to develop various tools adapted to the context of low income housing (photovoice animation guide, neighborhood observation grid, person-environment fit questionnaire), as well as to experiment this strategy on two different sites. The second study aims to evaluate the implementation and the effects of Flash sur mon quartier! in six HLM spread across the province of Quebec.

Améliorer la santé mentale des populations vulnérables : une approche misant sur le développement du pouvoir d'agir

 

Janie Houle

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

 

Domaine : santé des populations

Programme Chercheurs-boursiers - Junior 2

Concours 2016-2017

Ce programme de recherche a pour but de mieux comprendre comment le développement du pouvoir d'agir peut contribuer à l'amélioration de la santé mentale de deux populations vulnérables: les personnes souffrant de troubles anxieux/dépressif et les personnes vivant dans des habitations à loyer modique (HLM). Une démarche de croisement des savoirs est utilisée, dans laquelle des chercheurs (savoirs scientifiques) interagissent avec des décideurs et des intervenants (savoirs professionnels), ainsi qu'avec les personnes directement concernées (savoirs expérientiels), afin de développer et d'évaluer des interventions novatrices visant à améliorer la santé mentale.

Axe 1. Rétablissement des troubles anxieux/dépressif. La première étude vise à évaluer une intervention de soutien à l'autogestion des troubles anxieux/dépressif intitulée : Aller mieux à ma façon. Au total, 180 participants seront assignés au hasard à l'un des trois groupes suivants : 1) intervention facilitée par un professionnel (psychologue ou travailleur social); 2) intervention facilitée par un pair aidant (personne en rétablissement formée pour aider d'autres usagers à se rétablir); 3) groupe témoin (soins habituels). La deuxième étude consiste à évaluer les interventions de courte durée offertes aux personnes souffrant de troubles anxieux/dépressif par les équipes de santé mentale adulte en CLSC, afin d'identifier des pratiques optimales à promouvoir.

Axe 2.  Amélioration de la santé mentale des locataires en HLM. Cet axe souhaite contribuer à la diminution des inégalités sociales de santé par la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation d'une stratégie de recherche action participative en HLM. La première étude permet de développer des outils adaptés au contexte HLM (guide d'animation photovoice, grille d'observation du quartier, questionnaire de congruence personne-environnement) et d'expérimenter la stratégie dans deux sites. La deuxième étude vise à évaluer l'implantation et les effets de la stratégie dans six HLM à travers la province.