The sex of depression



Depression has two faces: one masculine and the other feminine. Indeed, the work led by Benoit Labonté, professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Neuroscience of the Faculty of Medicine at Université Laval, researcher at the CERVO Brain Research Centre and Pfizer–Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec research chair, suggests that, from a molecular perspective, depression is actually two different diseases with the same name. It should therefore come as no surprise that the effectiveness of current antidepressants is different in men and women.

Only 5 to 10% of the nerve cell genes that were affected by depression were shared between men and women!

Professor Labonté's team compared the biological bases of depression in both sexes by studying mouse models that reproduced certain aspects of mood disorders in humans and analyzing human samples from the Brain Bank of the Douglas Mental Health University Institute in Montréal. The researchers were able to identify specific genes that were either activated or repressed in animal and human subjects suffering from depression, including genetic material common to both species. They then took a closer look at these genes and the neurons of 13 men and 13 women who had been living with a depressive disorder at the time of their death and compared them to 22 healthy post-mortem brains. Labonté was taken aback by the results: of the human nerve cell genes that were affected by depression, only 5 to 10% were shared between men and women! Interestingly, sex-based differences were also observed in the brains of stressed rats. Depression therefore develops differently in males and females.

All the genes identified as part of the research project are potential therapeutic targets that may be used to provide personalized treatments for depression. For example, Benoit Labonté observed that the gene sets that regulate neuronal activity were affected differently in male and female mice under stress. The challenge is now to control the behaviours of these genes with medication administered according to the sex of the patient to reduce his or her susceptibility to stress and create a new roadblock for depression with the added benefit of causing fewer side effects and being more effective.

Le sexe de la dépression



La dépression a deux visages : un masculin et un féminin. Du point de vue moléculaire, en effet, on est en présence de deux maladies différentes qui portent le même nom, suggèrent les travaux de Benoit Labonté, professeur au Département de psychiatrie et de neurosciences de la Faculté de médecine de l'Université Laval, chercheur au Centre de recherche CERVO et responsable de la Chaire de recherche Pfizer – Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec. Pas étonnant que l'efficacité des antidépresseurs actuels ne soit pas la même chez les hommes que chez les femmes!

Seulement 5 à 10 % des gènes des cellules nerveuses affectés par la dépression sont communs aux hommes et aux femmes!

L'équipe du professeur Labonté a comparé les bases biologiques de la dépression entre les deux sexes. Les chercheurs ont étudié des modèles de souris reproduisant certains aspects des troubles de l'humeur chez l'humain, et analysé des échantillons d'individus provenant de la banque de cerveaux de l'Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas de Montréal. Ils ont ainsi identifié des gènes spécifiquement activés ou réprimés chez des sujets déprimés animaux et humains, dont une partie sont partagés par les deux espèces. Les scientifiques ont ensuite scruté ces gènes et les neurones chez 13 hommes et 13 femmes dépressifs au moment de leur décès, pour les comparer à ceux de 22 cerveaux post-mortem sains. Les résultats ont surpris Benoit Labonté : parmi tous les gènes des cellules nerveuses affectés par la dépression chez l'être humain, seulement 5 à 10 % sont communs aux hommes et aux femmes! Étonnamment, ces différences sexuelles se retrouvent également dans le cerveau des souris stressées. La dépression fait donc son chemin de façon bien différente selon le sexe.

Tous les gènes identifiés dans le cadre du projet deviennent autant de cibles thérapeutiques possibles pour traiter la maladie de façon personnalisée. Par exemple, Benoit Labonté a observé que des ensembles de gènes régulant spécifiquement l'activité neuronale étaient affectés différemment chez les souris mâles et les souris femelles stressées. L'enjeu? Contrôler le comportement de ces gènes avec une médication basée sur le sexe afin de diminuer la susceptibilité au stress et de barrer l'une des routes de la dépression avec, en prime, moins d'effets secondaires et plus d'efficacité.