Promoting immunization to every parent



When it comes to vaccinating their children, many families hesitate. To promote vaccination for very young children and counter the false information on the issue, Dr. Arnaud Gagneur, neonatologist at Hôpital Fleurimont and researcher and the CHUS research center, has designed the Promovac strategy based on motivational interviewing. Soon after a baby is born, an immunization advisor meets with the parents, who can then voice their concerns and ask questions on vaccination.

The meetings with 2,800 families have yielded encouraging results.

According to Dr. Gagneur, the approach is both standardized and individualized. "There is only one message but the advisor will adapt the conversation to the parents' needs," he explains. "The aim is to strengthen the motivation of parents to immunize their children in an environment of empathy.

Following a successful initial run in Estrie, Dr. Gagneur broadened the study to four of Québec's major birthing centres. The meetings with 2,800 families have yielded encouraging results: a significant increase in the number of children vaccinated. Indeed, the vaccination coverage among seven-month-olds rose from 74 to 80%. The meetings also helped alleviate mistrust toward vaccination. Going into their motivational interviews, 16% of parents had strong apprehensions about vaccinating their child. Afterwards, the proportion dropped to 5%.

In January 2018, the Promovac strategy will be implemented in the province's 13 maternity units, in which 55% of births take place. Ultimately, the program could be launched across Québec. Dr. Gagneur hopes that the initiative will improve vaccination coverage and raise awareness among parents to help them understand why they must immunize their children and be glad to do so.

Promouvoir la vaccination auprès de chaque parent



Plusieurs familles hésitent à faire vacciner leurs enfants. Pour promouvoir la vaccination chez les tout-petits et contrer les fausses informations qui circulent sur le sujet, le néonatalogiste Arnaud Gagneur de l'Hôpital Fleurimont, aussi chercheur au Centre de recherche du CHUS, a mis au point la stratégie Promovac. Cette approche est basée sur l'entrevue motivationnelle. Peu après la naissance de l'enfant, un conseiller à la vaccination rencontre les parents, qui peuvent alors exprimer leurs craintes et poser leurs questions sur tous les aspects de la vaccination.

Les rencontres auprès de 2 800 familles ont montré des résultats encourageants.

Selon le docteur Gagneur, la démarche est à la fois standardisée et individualisée. « Il y a un message unique qui est véhiculé, mais le conseiller adapte son intervention aux besoins des parents », résume-t-il. Le but est de renforcer la motivation des parents à vacciner dans un climat d'empathie.

Après un premier essai concluant en Estrie, le docteur Gagneur a étendu son étude dans quatre grands centres de natalité à travers le Québec. Les rencontres auprès de 2 800 familles ont montré des résultats encourageants, soit une augmentation significative du nombre d'enfants vaccinés. En effet, la couverture vaccinale auprès des bébés de 7 mois est passée de 74 % à 80 %. Ces rencontres ont également permis de diminuer la méfiance envers la vaccination : alors que 16 % des parents avaient une forte hésitation à faire vacciner leur enfant, ce pourcentage est tombé à 5 % à la suite de l'entretien motivationnel.

En janvier 2018, la stratégie Promovac sera déployée dans 13 maternités québécoises représentant 55 % des naissances. Ultimement, ce programme pourrait être généralisé dans toutes les maternités de la province. Avec cette stratégie, le docteur Gagneur souhaite non seulement augmenter la couverture vaccinale, mais également sensibiliser les parents afin qu'ils comprennent pourquoi ils doivent faire vacciner leur enfant et qu'ils soient heureux de le faire.