Health research is supported by both public and private funding.


Public Research

Until the mid-1960s, there was no formal support for health research in Québec or Canada.

At the time, researchers worked in hospitals to stay in tune with their research issues and close to their patients. Because hospital budgets did not accommodate researcher salaries, laboratory equipment or library material, the Conseil de recherches médicales du Québec (CRMQ) – which would become the Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé (FRQS) – was created in 1964 to provide support for health research.

Within this general context, for the past 50 years, the federal and provincial governments as well as paragovernmental and private organizations have spearheaded initiatives in Québec to level the playing field in international health research. Public research, which had been carried out by isolated investigators and small groups, was slowly transformed, making way for centres and national and international networks that gained a multisectorial and multidisciplinary dimension.

Private Research

Québec is a strategic centre for private research in the health sector. By prioritizing R&D, tax breaks, labour force training, competitive operational costs and a vision for a knowledge-based economy, the province has made a name for itself on the world stage. By targeting certain key sectors and creating a synergy between the different strategies, Québec has developed several key niches. Today the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries constitute one of Québec's three main economic hubs, along with aerospace and information technologies.

Québec is one of the few places in the world where pharmaceutical companies can carry out all of the development stages for a new drug, from fundamental and clinical research to manufacturing and marketing.

  • Over 10,000 researchers work in biomedical research centres.

  • Each year, 5,000 students graduate from health-related programs, including chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, biomedical engineering and a number of others.

  • 10,000 scientists hold public-sector positions in the health sciences.

  • There are nearly 300 public and university research centres and groups in Québec.

  • Québec is a major North American centre for the life sciences, with companies engaged in basic research, manufacturing, biotechnology, contract research and medical technology.

  • Working tirelessly to perfect innovative processes, a number of world-renowned research centres are gaining international recognition for their scientific breakthroughs.

  • Nineteen international pharmaceutical companies have chosen Québec as the site for their Canadian headquarters.

  • More than 400 life-sciences companies employ over 25,400 skilled workers.

*Source: Investissement Québec website, June 2014

To learn more, consult  Le fil de la recherche en santé au Québec.

La recherche en santé est soutenue tant par des fonds publics que des fonds privés.


La recherche publique

Jusqu'au milieu des années 1960, il n'existait pas encore, ni au Canada ni au Québec, de soutien organisé de la recherche en santé.

À cette époque, les chercheurs allaient dans les hôpitaux afin de se rapprocher de leurs thématiques d'étude et de leurs patients. Comme la structure hospitalière ne prévoyait pas de postes budgétaires pour les payer, pour équiper les laboratoires et pour fournir du matériel aux bibliothèques, on créa en 1964 le Conseil de recherches médicales du Québec (CRMQ) – qui allait devenir le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS) – afin de pallier cette situation.

C'est dans ce contexte général que, depuis 50 ans, des initiatives gouvernementales (provinciale et fédérale), paragouvernementales et privées ont été mises de l'avant au Québec pour rattraper les autres pays en matière de recherche. La recherche publique, qui était antérieurement le fait d'individus isolés ou de groupes restreints, s'est peu à peu transformée pour devenir l'affaire de centres, puis de réseaux nationaux et internationaux acquérant, du coup, une dimension multisectorielle et interdisciplinaire.

La recherche privée

Le Québec est un emplacement stratégique pour la recherche privée dans le domaine de la santé. En priorisant la R-D, les allègements fiscaux, la formation de la main-d'œuvre, les coûts d'exploitation concurrentiels et à une vision fondée sur l'économie du savoir, il s'est bâti une réputation internationale. Il a su aussi, en ciblant certains secteurs clés et par la synergie des moyens employés, développer des créneaux majeurs. Avec l'aérospatiale et les technologies de l'information, l'industrie pharmaceutique et des biotechnologies constitue l'un des trois grands pôles économiques du Québec.

Le Québec est l'un des rares endroits au monde où une entreprise pharmaceutique peut réaliser toutes les étapes de développement d'un médicament, qu'il s'agisse de recherche fondamentale ou clinique, de fabrication ou de mise en marché.

  • «Plus de 10 000 chercheurs travaillent dans les centres de recherche biomédicale.

  • Chaque année, 5000 étudiants sont diplômés dans des programmes liés à la santé comme la chimie, la biochimie, la pharmacie, le génie biomédical, et plusieurs autres.

  • 10 000 scientifiques travaillent dans le secteur public des sciences de la santé.

  • On trouve au Québec près de 300 organismes ou centres de recherche publics et universitaires.

  • Le Québec est un pôle majeur des sciences de la vie en Amérique du Nord. Les entreprises de ce secteur sont actives dans la recherche fondamentale, la fabrication, les biotechnologies, la recherche contractuelle et les technologies médicales.

  • Plusieurs centres de recherche de renommée internationale se démarquent sur la scène mondiale par leurs percées scientifiques et travaillent sans relâche à développer des procédés innovants.

  • Une douzaine d'entreprises pharmaceutiques internationales ont choisi d'établir leur siège social canadien en sol québécois.

  • Les quelque 400 entreprises en sciences de la vie emploient 25 400 travailleurs compétents.»*

*Source : Site Web d'Investissement Québec, juin 2014

Pour en savoir plus, consultez Le fil de la recherche en santé au Québec.