Responsible conduct of research

The responsible conduct of research, which includes the respect for standards and rules for research integrity and research ethics, refers to the conduct expected of the various actors carrying out research activities or activities in support of research. This conduct is based on values recognized by the international community, such as honesty, reliability and rigour, objectivity, fairness and independence, justice (especially in recognizing the contributions of others), trust, accountability and benevolence, openness and transparency.


 

The global research community is placing increasing emphasis on the responsible conduct of research. With their Policy for the responsible conduct of research, the Fonds de recherche du Québec (FRQ) contribute to sending out an international message of pledge to the responsible conduct of research. This Policy notably demonstrates how important the responsible conduct of research is for the FRQ.

Written to the attention of students, researchers and institutions benefiting from FRQ funding, the Policy describes the fundamental elements of the responsible conduct of research in respect to the highest principals in ethics and integrity and presents the potential breaches to this conduct. It also specifies the minimal requirements regarding the management of allegations of breach to the responsible conduct of research when provincial funds are involved. In this way, it echoes the policy enunciated by the Federal funding agencies which applies when federal funds are involved: The Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research. The FRQ Policy on the responsible conduct of research came into effect September 1st 2015.

At the same time, the FRQ adopted their own internal rules defining the procedures for applying the Policy for the responsible Conduct of Research in the context of the internal activities of the Fonds. Pursuant to the Policy, a Responsible Conduct of Research Committee (RCRC) has been set up by the FRQ.

 

On February 4 and 12 2015, the Fonds de recherche du Québec (FRQ) held their 1st Information and Education Days on the responsible conduct of research. These days followed the launched of their Policy for the responsible conduct of research, which came into effect September 1st 2015.

Organized for the benefit of the intitutions' responsible conduct of research officers, these days aimed to present the FRQ approach for the responsible conduct of research, to inform the officers of the Policy's components and to explain the minimum requirements prescribed for the management of allegations of breach. The presentations given can be found above.

The presentations are meant to be used as an educational tool for the institutions. The FRQ is currently developing other educational and training tools for the benefit of other members of the research community (researchers, students, research personnel or fund administrators). These tools will be included on our website regularly.

For those interested, the plenary presentations from the 4th World Conference on Research integrity, held in Rio May 31 to June 3 2015, can be accessed following this link!

Direction des affaires éthiques et juridiques

 

Out of a desire to reassert the importance of ethics in research, the Fonds de recherche du Québec (FRQ) are confirming their commitment to promoting and supporting the responsible conduct of research within Québec institutions by developing an approach that will respect the realities of Québec research while encompassing the complexity of today's research contexts and environments. Initiatives in this direction include the development of a single policy and common procedures relating to the responsible conduct of research, made necessary by the restructuring of the three Fonds (Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies, Fonds de recherche du Québec –  Santé and Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture) under the banner of the Fonds de Recherche du Québec (FRQ) and the leadership of the Chief Scientist of Québec.

The FRQ are in a unique position to impose minimum rules for the promotion and governance of responsible conduct of research on a provincial level. The FRQ Policy will thus bring the efforts made to promote the responsible conduct of research together around a common vision and raise awareness among all research actors about the importance of adopting responsible conduct in all of their research activities, while providing them with tools to reach this goal.

The FRQ's policy provides clear directives that are consistent with national and international best practices for the responsible conduct of research. In developing  this policy, the FRQ were largely inspired by the benchmark documents for the responsible conduct of research: The European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity, The Singapore Statement on Research Integrity, Honesty, Accountability and Trust: Fostering Research Integrity in Canada and the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research.

 

The Fonds de recherche du Québec (FRQ) want to underscore the trust they place in the researchers, students and institutions benefitting from their funding. This trust lies at the heart of the discussions that led to the drawing up of this policy and is an inherent part of the global approach to ethics in research adopted by the FRQ. The FRQ have developed and intend to see this Policy evolve in collaboration with the entire research community to:

  • Foster and support research excellence, of which responsible conduct is a component;
  • Assume the Fonds' responsibilities regarding the sound management and responsible use of public funds;
  • Clarify the Fonds' expectations towards the various actors in research regarding responsible conduct of research;
  • Strengthen public trust in the allocation of public funds and the conduct of research in Québec (in short, in the excellence of research undertaken by Québec researchers);
  • Facilitate the deployment of fair and equitable processes and decision-making in managing allegations of research misconduct ;
  • Aim for a proactive and dynamic approach (which adapts to the prevailing research context) to the responsible conduct of research.

The Policy sets out best practices, describes the responsibilities of each actor and clearly defines breaches of responsible conduct of research, which include breaches of research integrity. In addition, it dictates the parameters that must be respected by institutions in managing breaches of responsible conduct of research and when relaying information to the FRQ. It also provides parameters for the management of breaches of responsible conduct of research by the FRQ, including the establishment of a responsible conduct of research committee within the FRQ.

The Policy requirements also apply to the FRQS activities in support of research. The FRQS adopted internal rules which notably describe the process for managing internal allegations of breach of responsible conduct of research.

 

The 5th World Conference on Research Integrity will be held from May 28 to 31 in Amsterdam!

 

The Secretariat for the responsible conduct of research of Canada is offering travel grants to help you attend this meeting (5thWCRI 2017). You will find all the details relating to this competition on the The interagency advisory panel for the responsible conduct of research Web site.

Application deadline is January 9th 2017.

We wish you all the success in this competition!

 

Publications - Fonds de recherche du Québec

Publications - Ministères et organismes (Québec)

Publications - Ministères et organismes (Canada)

Autres publications

Liens

Archives

At Fonds de recherche du Québec, the responsible conduct of research officer is : Me Mylène Deschênes (514-873-2114)

ORGANISME NOM DU RESPONSABLE TÉLÉPHONE

École de technologie supérieure

Maarouf Saad

514-396-8800

Institut national de la recherche scientifique

Yves Bégin

418 654-4677

Polytechnique de Montréal

Gilles Savard

514-340-4711

Université Bishop's

Miles Turnbull

819-822-9600

Université Concordia

Cameron Skinner

514-848-2424

Université Laval

Marie Audette

418 656-2131

Université McGill

Christina Wolfson

514-398-4400

Université de Montréal

Marie-Josée Hébert

514-343-6111

Université de Sherbrooke

Jacques Beauvais

819-821-8000

Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Mustapha Fahmi

418-545-5011

Université du Québec à Montréal

Catherine Mounier

514-987-3000

Université du Québec à Rimouski

François Deschênes

418-723-1986

Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Robert W. Mantha

819-376-5011

Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Denis Martel

819-762-0971, poste 2200

Université du Québec en Outaouais

Charmain Levy

819-595-3900

Cette information est celle en date du 17 novembre 2016

 

At Fonds de recherche du Québec, the responsible conduct of research officer is : Me Mylène Deschênes (514-873-2114)

ORGANISME NOM DU RESPONSABLE TÉLÉPHONE

CHULRG - Université de Laval / CIUSSS - CN

Yves DeKoninck

418-663-5747

CISSS de Lanaudière

Christian Gagné

450 759-1157

CISSS de Laval

Caroline Barbir

450-668-1010

CISSS Montérégie-Centre

Jean-Louis Denis

450-466-5000

CISSS Montérégie-Est

Maryse Guay

450 771-3333

CISSS Montérégie-Ouest

Sophie Poirier

450-445-2431

CISSS Outaouais

Laurence Barraud

819-966-6171

CIUSSSS de l'Ouest-de-l'île-de-Montréal_Hôpital Général Juif Sir Mortimer B. Davis- Institut Lady Davis

 

Yves Lemay

 

514-340-8222

CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'île-de-Montréal

Suzanne Lavallée

514-495-6767

CIUSSS Maurice-Centre du Québec

Marlène Galdin

819-379-7732

CR – CHUM / CHUM

Vincent Poitout

514-890-8044

CR – CHUQ / CHUQ_ULaval

Jean-Claude Forest

418-525-4444

CUSM - McGill

Christina Wolfson

514-398-4400

Institut de cardiologie de Montréal

Gilles Lefebvre

514-376-3330

Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal

Louis-Gilles Durand

514-987-5500

Institut Philippe Pinel de Montréal

Renée Fugère

514-648-8461

Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas

Joseph Rochford

514-761-6131

Cette information est celle en date du 20 janvier 2017

 

At Fonds de recherche du Québec, the responsible conduct of research officer is : Me Mylène Deschênes (514-873-2114)

ORGANISME NOM DU RESPONSABLE TÉLÉPHONE

Cégep André-Laurendeau

Claude Roy

514-364-3320

Cégep de Chicoutimi

Régis Pelletier

418-549-7520

Cégep de Jonquière

Nancy Gagnon

418-547-2191

Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Îles

Françoise Leblanc-Perreault

418 364-3341

Cégep de La Pocatière

Josée Soucy

418-856-1525

Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscaminque

Éric Aubin

819-762-0931

Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Lucie Goulet

418-833-5110

Cégep de l'Outaouais

Frédéric Poulin

819-770-4012

Cégep de Rimouski

Lyne Beaulieu

418-723-1880

Cégep de Sainte-Foy

Christian Morin

418-659-6600

Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe

Marc Leclerc

450-773-6800

Cégep de Saint-Jérôme

Diane Bournival

450-436-1580

Cégep de Saint-Laurent

David Pilon

514-747-6521

Cégep de Sept-Îles

Marc Lavoie

418-962-9848

Cégep de Sherbrooke

Éric Gagné

819-564-6350

Cégep de Sorel-Tracy

Marie-Claude Pineault

450-742-6651

Cégep de Thetford

Catherine Blanchet

418-338-8591

Cégep de Trois-Rivières

Lucie Hamel

819-376-1721

Cégep de Victoriaville

Paul Thériault

819-758-6401

Cégep du Vieux-Montréal

Nathalie Giguère

514-982-3437

Cégep John Abbott

Érich Schmedt

514-457-6610

Cégep régional de Lanaudière (Joliette et Assomption)

Marcel Côté

450-759-1661

Collège Ahuntsic

Anne Milot

514-389-5921

Collège d'Alma

Normand Poniewiera

418-668-2387

Collège Dawson

Diane Gauvin

514-931-8731

Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne

Jérôme Ouellet

514-332-3000

Collège de Maisonneuve

Guy Gibeau

514-254-7131

Collège de Rosemont

Élise Tousignant

514-376-1620

Cégep Édouard-Montpetit

Alain Legault

450-679-2631

Collège François-Xavier-Garneau

Marielle Pratte

418-688-8310

Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf

Jacques Lemaire

514-342-9342

Collège Lionel-Groulx

Renaud Thibodeau

450-430-3120

Collège Marianopolis

Christian Corno

514-931-8792

Collège Mérici

Luce Poulin

418-683-2104

Collège Montmorency

France Lamarche

450-975-6114

Collège régional Champlain

Paul Keaser

819-564-3600

Collège Shawinigan

Joyce Paquette

819-539-6401

Cette information est celle en date du 6 décembre 2016

Conduite responsable en recherche

La conduite responsable en recherche se rapporte au comportement attendu des différents acteurs menant des activités de recherche ou de soutien à la recherche. Elle inclut le respect des normes et des règles propres à l'intégrité en recherche et à l'éthique de la recherche et, en ce sens, prend assise sur les valeurs reconnues par la communauté internationale, soit : l'honnêteté, la fiabilité, la rigueur, l'objectivité, l'impartialité, l'indépendance, la justice (notamment dans la reconnaissance de la contribution des autres), la confiance, la responsabilité, la bienveillance, l'ouverture et la transparence.


Le contexte mondial de la recherche accorde de plus en plus d'importance à la conduite responsable en recherche. Avec la Politique sur la conduite responsable en recherche [1 083 ko], les Fonds de recherche du Québec (FRQ) contribuent au message international lancé en la matière. Cette Politique témoigne notamment de l'importance que revêt la conduite responsable en recherche pour les FRQ.

Destinée aux étudiants, aux chercheurs et aux établissements qui reçoivent du financement des FRQ, la Politique décrit les éléments essentiels de la conduite responsable en recherche dans le respect des plus hauts principes d'éthique et d'intégrité et présente les manquements potentiels à la conduite responsable en recherche. Elle précise également les exigences minimales en ce qui a trait à la gestion des allégations de manquement à la conduite responsable en recherche lorsque des fonds publics provinciaux sont en jeu. En ce sens, elle fait aussi écho à la politique énoncée par les agences fédérales de financement qui s'applique lorsque des fonds publics fédéraux sont impliqués : le Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche [139 ko]. La Politique des FRQ est entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2015.

Parallèlement, les FRQ établissent leurs propres règles internes qui précisent notamment la mise en application de la Politique sur la conduite responsable en recherche dans le cadre des activités internes des Fonds. En vertu de la Politique, un Comité sur la conduite responsable en recherche est également mis sur pied par les FRQ.

 

Les 4 et 12 février 2015, les Fonds de recherche du Québec organisaient les toutes premières journées d'information et de sensibilisation en matière de conduite responsable en recherche. Ces journées ont fait suite à l'adoption de leur Politique sur la conduite responsable en recherche (ci-après, la Politique) qui entrera en vigueur le 1er septembre 2015.

Destinées aux personnes chargées de la conduite responsable en recherche [1 735 ko] au sein des divers établissements de la province, ces journées visaient à leurs présenter la vision des Fonds sur la conduite responsable en recherche, les informer des composantes de la Politique et expliquer les exigences minimales qu'elle prescrit en matière de gestion des allégations de manquement. La présentation projetée lors de ces journées est disponible ci-dessus.

Cette présentation se veut tout d'abord un outil d'information à l'attention des établissements. Une présentation qui permettra de mieux sensibiliser les autres acteurs de la recherche (chercheurs, boursiers, personnels de recherche ou gestionnaire de fonds) est en phase de développement et sera elle aussi disponible sur le site bientôt.

Les personnes intéressées peuvent aussi visionner les présentations plénières qui ont eu lieu lors de la 4e Conférence internationale sur l'intégrité en recherche, à Rio du 31 mai au 3 juin 2015. Les présentations sont disponibles en cliquant sur ce lien!

Ensemble, faisons la promotion de la conduite responsable en recherche !

Direction des affaires éthiques et juridiques

 

Forts de leur désir de réaffirmer la place qu'ils accordent au respect de l'éthique en recherche, les FRQ souhaitent confirmer leur engagement à promouvoir et soutenir la conduite responsable en recherche au sein des établissements du Québec. Pour ce faire, les FRQ visent à développer une approche qui permet de respecter la réalité de la recherche dans la province tout en englobant la complexité des lieux et des contextes de recherche. Parmi les initiatives développées en ce sens, on retrouve l'élaboration d'une politique et d'un processus communs en matière de conduite responsable en recherche que le regroupement des trois Fonds (Fonds de recherche Nature et technologies, Fonds de recherche Santé et Fonds de recherche Société et culture) sous la bannière des FRQ et sous le leadership du scientifique en chef du Québec a rendue nécessaire.

Les FRQ détiennent, effectivement, une place privilégiée qui leur permet de poser les règles minimales à adopter en matière de promotion et de gestion de la conduite responsable en recherche au niveau provincial. La Politique des FRQ vient ainsi unifier les efforts investis dans la promotion d'une conduite responsable en recherche autour d'une vision commune et sensibiliser l'ensemble des acteurs en recherche à l'importance d'adopter une conduite responsable en recherche dans leurs activités, en plus de les outiller dans leur poursuite de cet objectif.

Dans cette politique, les FRQ viennent énoncer des directives claires, en cohérence avec les meilleures pratiques nationales et internationales en la matière. Pour remplir ce mandat, ils se sont inspirés des principaux textes reconnus en conduite responsable en recherche : l'European Code of Conduct for Research Integrity, la Déclaration de Singapour sur l'intégrité en recherche, le rapport Honnêteté, responsabilité et confiance : promouvoir l'intégrité en recherche au Canada et le Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la  conduite responsable de la recherche.

 

Les FRQ tiennent à souligner leur confiance envers les chercheurs, les étudiants et les établissements dont ils financent les projets de recherche. Cette confiance est au cœur de la réflexion ayant guidé la rédaction de la Politique et fait partie intégrante de l'approche plus globale adoptée par les FRQ en matière d'éthique en recherche. C'est en collaboration avec ces acteurs que les FRQ développent et feront vivre cette Politique dont les objectifs sont les suivants :

  • Soutenir et promouvoir l'excellence en recherche à laquelle participe la conduite responsable ;
  • Assumer leurs responsabilités en matière de gestion de fonds publics ;
  • Clarifier les attentes des Fonds envers les différents acteurs impliqués en recherche ;
  • Soutenir la confiance du public dans la gestion du financement et la conduite de la recherche au Québec (bref, dans l'excellence de la recherche menée au Québec) ;
  • Favoriser le déploiement de processus et de prises de décisions justes et équitables dans la gestion des cas de manquement à l'intégrité en recherche ;
  • Viser une approche à la fois dynamique (qui s'ajuste au contexte contemporain de la recherche) et proactive en matière de conduite responsable en recherche.

La Politique énonce les meilleures pratiques, décrit les responsabilités de chacun des acteurs, définit explicitement les manquements à la conduite responsable en recherche dont les manquements à l'intégrité en recherche font partie. Elle dicte également les paramètres qui doivent être respectés dans le cadre de la gestion des manquements à la conduite responsable en recherche par les établissements et dans le cadre de la communication de renseignements aux FRQ. Elle prévoit aussi les paramètres qui doivent être respectés dans la gestion des dossiers de manquements à la conduite responsable en recherche aux FRQ, notamment la mise sur pied d'un comité sur la conduite responsable en recherche au sein même des FRQ.

Les exigences décrites dans la Politique s'appliquent aussi aux activités en soutien à la recherche menées au FRQS. Le FRQS s'est doté de Règles internes qui décrivent notamment le processus de gestion des allégations de manquement à la conduite responsable en recherche concernant ces activités.

 

La 5e Conference mondiale sur l'intégrité en recherche (5th WCRI) se tiendra du 28 au 31 mai 2017 à Amsterdam!

Vous trouverez l'information concernant cet événement ici!

 

Publications - Fonds de recherche du Québec

Publications - Ministères et organismes (Québec)

Publications - Ministères et organismes (Canada)

Autres publications

Liens

Archives

 

Aux Fonds de recherche du Québec, la personne chargée de la conduite responsable en recherche est : Me Mylène Deschênes (514-873-2114)

ORGANISME NOM DU RESPONSABLE TÉLÉPHONE
École de Technologie Supérieure Sylvain Cloutier

514-396-8800

HEC Montréal Robert Gagné 514 340-6255

Institut national de la recherche scientifique

Yves Bégin

418 654-4677

Polytechnique de Montréal

Gilles Savard

514-340-4711

Université Bishop's

Miles Turnbull

819-822-9600

Université Concordia

Cameron Skinner

514-848-2424

Université Laval

Marie Audette

418 656-2131

Université McGill

Christina Wolfson

514-934-1934

Université de Montréal

Marie-Josée Hébert

514-343-6111

Université de Sherbrooke

Jacques Beauvais

819-821-8000

Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Mustapha Fahmi

418-545-5011

Université du Québec à Montréal

Catherine Mounier

514-987-3000

Université du Québec à Rimouski

François Deschênes

418-723-1986

Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Robert W. Mantha

819-376-5011

Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Denis Martel

819-762-0971, poste 2200

Université du Québec en Outaouais

Charmain Levy

819-595-3900

TÉLUQ Caroline Brassard 418-657-2747

Cette information est celle en date du 8 mai 2017

 

Aux Fonds de recherche du Québec, la personne chargée de la conduite responsable en recherche est : Me Mylène Deschênes (514-873-2114)

ORGANISME NOM DU RESPONSABLE TÉLÉPHONE

CIUSSS de la Capitale-Nationale

Yves De Koninck

418-663-5747

CISSS de Lanaudière

Christian Gagné

450 759-1157

CISSS de Laval

Caroline Barbir

450-668-1010

CISSS Montérégie-Centre Maryse Guay 450-466-5000

CISSS Montérégie-Est

Jocelyn Bonin

450-771-3333

CISSS Montérégie-Ouest

Sophie Poirier

450-445-2431

CISSS Outaouais

Laurence Barraud

819-966-6171

CIUSSSS du Centre-Ouest-de-l'île-de-Montréal_Hôpital Général Juif Sir Mortimer B. Davis- Institut Lady Davis

 

Amina Talib

 

514-340-8222

CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'île-de-Montréal

Suzanne Lavallée

514-495-6767

CIUSSS Maurice-Centre du Québec

Roger Guimond

819-379-7732

CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean Pierre Ouellet 418-845-4980

CR – CHUM / CHUM

Vincent Poitout

514-890-8044

CR – CHUQ / CHUQ_ULaval

Martin Coulombe

418-525-4444

CUSM - McGill

Christina Wolfson

514-934-1934

Institut de cardiologie de Montréal

Gilles Lefebvre

514-376-3330

Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal

Jean-François Côté

514-987-5500

Institut Philippe Pinel de Montréal

Renée Fugère

514-648-8461

Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas

Joseph Rochford

514-761-6131

Cette information est celle en date du 21 juin 2017

 

Aux Fonds de recherche du Québec, la personne chargée de la conduite responsable en recherche est : Me Mylène Deschênes (514-873-2114)

ORGANISME NOM DU RESPONSABLE TÉLÉPHONE

Cégep André-Laurendeau

Claude Roy

514-364-3320

Cégep de Chicoutimi

Régis Pelletier

418-549-7520

Cégep de Jonquière

Nancy Gagnon

418-547-2191

Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Îles

Françoise Leblanc-Perreault

418 364-3341

Cégep de La Pocatière

Josée Soucy

418-856-1525

Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscaminque

Éric Aubin

819-762-0931

Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Lucie Goulet

418-833-5110

Cégep de l'Outaouais

Frédéric Poulin

819-770-4012

Cégep de Rimouski

Lyne Beaulieu

418-723-1880

Cégep de Sainte-Foy

Christian Morin

418-659-6600

Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe

Marc Leclerc

450-773-6800

Cégep de Saint-Jérôme

Diane Bournival

450-436-1580

Cégep de Saint-Laurent

Chantal Provost

514-747-6521

Cégep de Sept-Îles

Marc Lavoie

418-962-9848

Cégep de Sherbrooke

Éric Gagné

819-564-6350

Cégep de Sorel-Tracy

Marie-Claude Pineault

450-742-6651

Cégep de Thetford

Catherine Blanchet

418-338-8591

Cégep de Trois-Rivières

Lucie Hamel

819-376-1721

Cégep de Victoriaville

Paul Thériault

819-758-6401

Cégep du Vieux-Montréal

Nathalie Giguère

514-982-3437

Cégep John Abbott

Érich Schmedt

514-457-6610

Cégep régional de Lanaudière (Joliette et Assomption)

Marcel Côté

450-759-1661

Collège Ahuntsic

Anne Milot

514-389-5921

Collège d'Alma

Normand Poniewiera

418-668-2387

Collège Dawson

Diane Gauvin

514-931-8731

Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne

Jérôme Ouellet

514-332-3000

Collège de Maisonneuve

Guy Gibeau

514-254-7131

Collège de Rosemont

Élise Tousignant

514-376-1620

Cégep Édouard-Montpetit

Alain Legault

450-679-2631

Collège François-Xavier-Garneau

Marielle Pratte

418-688-8310

Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf

Jacques Lemaire

514-342-9342

Collège Lionel-Groulx

Renaud Thibodeau

450-430-3120

Collège Marianopolis

Christian Corno

514-931-8792

Collège Mérici

Luce Poulin

418-683-2104

Collège Montmorency

France Lamarche

450-975-6114

Collège régional Champlain

Paul Keaser

819-564-3600

Collège Shawinigan

Joyce Paquette

819-539-6401

Cette information est celle en date du 24 mars 2017